American Library Association Book Awards

American Library Association (ALA) Youth Media Awards is the biggest event of the year in the world of children's publishing.  It’s like the Oscars for books!  The Newbery, Caldecott, Printz, Coretta Scott King, and other ALA Youth Media Awards are some of the most prestigious awards an author or illustrator can aspire to.


The Children’s Literature Legacy Award

This award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children through books that demonstrate integrity and respect for all children’s lives and experiences.

And the winner is…. Pam Muñoz Ryan. 

Books to look for: Becoming Naomi Leon, Esperanza Rising, Our California, and Tony Baloney.


The Coretta Scott King Book Awards

 This award is given annually to outstanding African American illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

And the winner is…Dare Coulter for their beautiful illustrations in An American Story by Kwame Alexander.


The John Steptoe New Talent Award 

This award was established to affirm new talent and to offer visibility to excellence in writing and/or illustration.

And the winner is…Briana Mukodiri Uchendu for illustrating We Could Fly by Rhiannon Giddens.


Coretta Scott King - Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement

The annual award is presented in even years to an African American author, illustrator or author/illustrator for a body of their published books for children and/or young adults, and who has made a significant and lasting literary contribution.

And the winner is…Christopher Paul Curtis.

Books to look for: The Mighty Miss Malone, Elijah of Buxton, The Journey of Little Charlie, and Bud, Not Buddy.


The John Newbery Award

The Newbery Medal is awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

And the winner is…Dave Egger for The Eyes and the Impossible.


Pura Belpré Children’s Author and Illustrator Award

Is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

And the winner is…Pedro Martín for Mexikid: A Graphic Memoir.


Randolph Caldecott Medal

It is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

And the winner is…Vashti Harrison for Big.


Schneider Family Book Award

This award honors an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.

And the winner is…Jenn Bailey for Henry, Like Always and Sally J. Pla for The Fire, the Water, and Maudie McGinn

For more awards and their winners visit the ALA website.

Post Author
Kid's Services
Post Type